Write from the Beginning – How We Do It in Our Class

April 13, 2007 at 7:37 am | Posted in education, elementary, graphic organizers, inner city, third grade, writing | Leave a comment

As I mentioned before, Thinking Maps are the most useful graphic organizers I’ve been trained to teach.  Our school is lucky because not only did we receive the Thinking Maps training, we also received the Write from the Beginning training, which uses Thinking Maps to organize writing.

We received this training only a few months ago.  I immediately implemented the training to the best of my understanding and saw immediate results in my students writing.  I was never a very good writing teacher before.

The samples I’m going to show you in the next few posts are actually taken from our Open Court third grade Unit 4 writing assessments.  The students were given three days to answer a prompt indepedently.  All of my students used the Write from the Beginning process to structure their writing, quite successfully I thought.

You’ve already seen an example from my far below basic student, my Special Ed student.

I will show you samples from my proficient student and basic student.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.