How do you feel today? (via “the Pierian spring” – ramblings of an English teacher)

June 7, 2010 at 7:15 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

This blog always has highly useful and interesting postings. This one is timely for me because of students have been more than a little bit crazy lately. See my previous posts on my little caged monkeys.

This tool, “How do you feel today?” would be a particularly useful counseling tool for my students and I. My students, second graders, may not have the maturity to express their feelings appropriately and act out instead of stating their feelings. In particular, because it is the end of the school year and a lot of things are going on, my students are stressed and undergoing a lot of anxiety. With this tool, I can understand their emotions and teach them to react appropriately.

How do you feel today? Working at a school this Friday, I came across a resource that I really liked but I could see that, with a few tweaks, it could be even more useful. So, I've made my own version of it. Each 'emoticon' has beneath it a strip of five boxes that could indicate intensity or that could be used to track emotion over a period of five lessons. The sheet is purposefully made using outline drawings so that colour might also be used to develop an emotional … Read More

via “the Pierian spring” – ramblings of an English teacher

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

