New Second Grade Reading and Writing Homework – Tree Map

August 26, 2007 at 8:41 pm | Posted in education, elementary, free resources, graphic organizers, homework, reading, second grade, thinking maps, writing | 3 Comments

I am trying out a new second grade reading and writing homework using the Tree Map.  My goal is for students to prepare students to be able to dissect a story, looking at the characters, setting, problem and solution.  Eventually, I want to transition into using the academic language of “characters, setting, problem and solution” but for now, I’m using scaffolding language.  Take a look to see if it’s useful for you.

Visit my box.net to download the PDF file of the Tree Map.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Welcome back to blogging.

  2. I think this is a wonderfully simple tree, and just right for second and third-graders. I think I could use it in my class. Would that be all right?

    Eileen
    Dedicated Elementary Teacher Overseas
    elementaryteacher.wordpress.com

  3. Thanks Mathew 🙂

    Eileen, you are very welcome to try the homework. Let me know if you have any suggestions for improving it. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

