How to Really Publish Your Students’ Writings and Drawings

June 23, 2007 at 7:16 am | Posted in elementary, free resources, investigation, Open Court, teachers, third grade, writing | 3 Comments

I discovered Lulu.com about a year ago.  Lulu.com is a print on demand company.  You upload a pdf file to their server and can buy your beautiful, professional looking, retail ready book.  You can buy one or a class set or however many you want.  You can set your privacy option so that only you have the right to purchase your book.  You can also set it so that other people (like parents) can purchase the book.  (I would set that function to zero profit, or make it a fund-raiser for the school because keeping profit from your students’ work is kinda sticky business.)

When I first discovered it, I uploaded some gorgeous paintings my students made for the story “Picasso” in the “Imagination” unit of the third grade Open Court Reading program.  We purchased one book to be placed in my class library.  The kids went wild.  They love seeing their work in a real book.

I’m doing it again today.  I’m uploading some seriously amazing pieces that my students wrote as part of their investigation into storytelling.  They collected family oral histories and wrote the stories down, with beautiful illustration.  Unfortunately, we’re behind on the project, so the book probably won’t get here by our last day of school.  I will order two copies, one for their fourth grade class and one for my third grade class.

The students were very motivated to do their best writing and drawing for this book because, well, it’s a real book!  You can’t get more authentic and motivating than that!

I really recommend that teachers look into Lulu.com as one of the ways that students can publish their final drafts for writing, but also a way to publish Science projects, History projects, and anything else really.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I just moved my classroom so I can’t find anything at the moment but there’s another company that sends you a free hardcover copy of a book for your classroom as long as you send home slips so that the students have a choice to by one. There’s no obligation to pay any money. Even the shipping is free. But I’ll have to get back to you on the name.

  2. Opencourt — please let us know what company that is. I am definitely planning on using Lulu or this other company next year. Thanks for the great post, cityteacher!

  3. OK, it took me a long time to find it, but this is the company that publishes student books for free (though you have to ask students’ parents if they want to buy a copy)… http://www.studentreasures.com


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

