New Student Gone, New Year Beginning

June 4, 2007 at 8:13 pm | Posted in education, inner city, teachers, whining | Leave a comment

Talk about high transiency.  My new student is gone.  Checked out in the middle of the testing period.  Didn’t even finish the standardized test.  Didn’t leave a reason either, so it’s a mystery.

But generally speaking, our inner city school has extremely high transiency.  This is nothing new for us.  I have two more students who are warning me that they will move by June 11, that’s days away from completing third grade.

In the meantime, if you notice a marked decrease in my posting, that’s because my carpal tunnel just about knocked me out this past week.  I’m going easy on the typing until the pain subsides even more.

I think when I come back, I’ll start posting on how to get ready for the next school year as I’m four weeks away from starting my new school year and I’ve started thinking about how to build a classroom community of learners, what I want to keep, what I want to change.  Yup.  That’s right.  Before I can even think about ending the year with my current students, I have to start thinking about beginning a new academic year already.  Traditional calendar teachers have no CONCEPTION of what this process is like.  It’s like starting a race five miles behind the starting line with your hands tied and your legs hobbled.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

