Storytelling Ideas

May 6, 2007 at 10:23 am | Posted in free resources, IWT, Open Court, performance task, third grade, Workshop | 3 Comments

I’m getting ready to teach Unit 5, Storytelling. I did a quick search using google and found this amazing website with hundreds of storytelling ideas. I will scour the site, but I thought I should share first!

Story Arts Online

Here’s another one that I find useful.

National Storytelling Network

And author Aaron Shepard’s site on storytelling is amazing.

-Edit-

Opencourtresources.com has amazing resources for Open Court teachers.  One that I’m using is “Tell Me a Story” by Emily Fuhr.  I’m using it as part of our unit opener.  I’ve developed a short performance task that uses the poem.  We will work on this performance task throughout the first few weeks of the unit during Workshop time. Take a look at the pdf that I created for the performance task.

The performance task is:

You are a poet getting ready to perform a new poem with feelings.  You must listen to and read the poem.  You must sequence the parts of the poem in order to create a flow map and then perform the poem to the class.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Here’s a bunch of Storytelling ideas and links…
    http://www.opencourtresources.com/ocr/grade3/unitpages/storytelling.html

  2. Absolutely! opencourtresources.com has amazing resources for any OCR teacher. I’ve already taken much of the ideas, especially the powerpoints. Great resources!

  3. Don’t forget one of the oldest and broadest sties out there at http://www.storyteller.net . Tons of resources.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

