Those Who Can, Do! Those Who Can’t…

April 15, 2007 at 3:17 pm | Posted in education, inner city, life, teachers | 1 Comment

should not become teachers!

The field of education is awash with really BAD teachers and really GOOD teachers and really mediocre teachers.

What aggravates me alot is that people who can’t do anything in their field of choice decides to become teachers, because, you know, anyone can teach! Of course anyone can be in a classroom “delivering” lessons, but it takes a whole lot to become a teacher.

Last night, at a club, I met a lovely young lady who told me her story, about how she became a NYC Teaching Fellows and was placed in the Bronx because she couldn’t get a job elsewhere. She quickly quit because, “it wasn’t for her” and it was a lot harder than she expected. She’s now a secretary to some poet making minimum wage and considering going back to music.

I like the fact that she recognizes that she couldn’t cut it and she quit before she ruins generation after generation of students. I WISH there are more teachers who recognize that they’re not excellent teachers…and work hard to become one.

After five years of hard work, I’ve finally become what I would consider mediocre.  In five more years, I think I will become moderately acceptable.  Keep working hard, that’s what I say!  Eventually, I shall achieve excellence!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Honestly, I don’t believe teaching is respected as a profession like others. People assume that any one can teach. A friend of mine and I were having a heated debate about our professions being respected. She’s in social work and she says the same type of mentality exists in that profession. It takes skill and TRAINING to become an effective classroom teacher. Teachers mold the future. I’m glad that we have a lot of requirements to teach. Its how we become respected and qualify what we do each day. (another ramble–sorry–prob repeating what many others have said)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

