Dreams of Technology in the Classroom

March 27, 2007 at 11:05 pm | Posted in dreams, education, elementary, personal, teachers, technology in education | Leave a comment

I’ve been ill since Friday.  What a way to start my vacation!

While ill and feverish, I had this amazing dream.

All of my students have an internet connected laptop.  I have a laptop as well connected to a projector.  Together, we are beginning a new unit and exploring the internet for ideas, questions, pictures, concepts relating to the new unit.  We then use clipmark to clip important ideas to our blogs to share with each other and comment on each other’s findings.  Throughout the unit, we would add our learning to our blog, clipmark each other’s works, leave comments.  What a real world use of technology in the classroom that would build content knowledge, language art skills, writing with a purpose, just WoW!

It’s an unattainable dream it feels like, but not so farfetched.  I shall start by asking Donorschoose.org for a laptop and a projector for myself.  Then, I shall start asking for one laptop at a time for my students.  It’ll take time, but eventually, I will build a class set!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

