Thinking Map – Prewriting

March 23, 2007 at 4:17 am | Posted in education, elementary, schools, Special Education, teachers, writing | 1 Comment


Thinking Map – Prewriting
Originally uploaded by cityteacher.

This was the pre-writing activity that helped my Special Ed. student get to his finished friendly letter.

There’s an opening sentence, two main ideas, and a closing sentence.

As you can see, he did this himself, as he was taught to use Thinking Maps to plan his writing. The structure of his writing, though lacking in details, is pretty much there because he used this Flow Map.

Simply amazing.

I honestly wish that I was trained to use these “Thinking Maps” sooner. I was trained in November of 2006 and have been using them in my classroom since. I’m such a better teacher and my students are such better writers because of these graphic organizers!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks for posting this format. I used it with my students and it really helped on their letter writing. It really made a difference on their writing.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

