Student Reflection – Ticket Out the Door

May 6, 2007 at 11:32 am | Posted in best practices, elementary, free resources, IWT, Open Court, strategies, Workshop | 7 Comments

Students need to reflect as well as teachers. Reflection allows students to take ownership of their learning and motivate students to work harder at their learning. Reflection also allows students to process information and commit learning to their long term memory.

Ticket Out the Door

One strategy I picked up from Barbara Benson is “Ticket Out the Door”. Students reflect on their learning on a small piece of paper and give it to the teacher on their way out the door.

For third grade and second grade Open Court teachers, I will create tickets for each unit and upload them to the web. (I’ll try to do it in a PDF form as that’s most convenient. I don’t know how to convert files to PDF. The files are available in jpg format in the widget to the right or at my Box.net Public Folder. ) Here’s a sample:

ticket_out_door

These tickets are for the Storytelling Unit. You can tell because of the picture. :)

Use with Open Court Program

To incorporate student reflection into a busy Open Court day, simply have these tickets pre-cut and placed in a convenient place. As part of the student’s Must Do during IWT or Workshop time, have students fill out one card and keep at their desk. In order to leave for recess or lunch, they must hand you their ticket.

After perusing the tickets (as the students walk out the door), I plan on putting the tickets on the Concept/Question board. This is an easy way to fill up the board with genuine learning and help students reflect on their learning at the same time.

As a teacher, I will keep an eye on these tickets for any misconceptions I want to clarify or any learning I want to re-emphasize or any teachable moment, or just anything I want to follow up on, individually or collectively.

Today’s Door Question

Today’s Door Question is how I plan to vary the tickets. The question will be relevant to the day’s activity or learning. It should be open ended, interesting, and quick.

-UPDATE 05/10/2007-

I’ve used tickets for the last two days in the class as a Must Do during Workshop time and wow! Student written reflection really allows me to see what they are thinking and what made an impression on them for the day. Today’s selection vocabulary really stood out for them, even though I felt that it dragged as a lesson. Today’s Door Question was “What is your favorite story?”

ticket2
This student’s comment that she liked the word defenseless really made me laugh.

ticket1
This student showed an understanding of the word “furious”.

As you can see, my students are not the best spellers, capital letters are flying everywhere…there’s much for us to work on, but I can clearly see that my students are learning!

Here’s a sample from my special ed student.
ticket3

Recall that my special ed student hated reading at the beginning of the school year.  Now, he clearly has a favorite story (a folktale since we are studying storytelling) and he’s reading independently!

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. What a great idea – I’d love to try these in my classroom – and I’m slightly inspired to start a teaching blog!

  2. FYI, PrimoPDF may be what you’re looking for.

  3. I wanted to add to your wiki a strategy that I use in my classroom, but I am unsure how to. I bought 2 large dry erase boards at Lowes ($20 total costs) & had them cut down into individual size boards (the size of a piece of paper). In my 9th grade history class, each student is given a dry erase board and dry erase marker. I ask questions and they answer on the board invidually. They then can share them with a partner and then hold them up and share it with the class. Its alot of fun b/c you can assess while the studnets are actively participating. Sometimes, they don’t share their answer with their partner, they just hold up their answer when I call for it. I got this idea from a math teacher when I was observing classes in grad school. My 9th graders love it! Sometimes, I have even turned it into a ticket out the door. They have to write down one thing they learned on the board and turn it in and I check their responses as they exit!

  4. Proverbs, I’ve added more direction for how to add a strategy to the wiki. Will you give it a try to see if the direction is helpful? I want teachers to have access to the wiki, not just me, so clear direction is necessary. Please try to add your white board idea again.

  5. I love this idea CT and I wholeheartedly agree with your observations about reflection: the more opportunities we give our students to do it the better. On that subject, I gave my students a guided visualisation today – eyes closed, visualise, anticipate, reflect etc. I’ve not tried that strategy before and was really surprised how well it went. I am sure that reflection is key to helping students to make lasting progress.

  6. I LOVE the ticket idea!

  7. You could create convert your file to a pdfonline.com


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

